© Table Tennis Rother (2024)

Juniors Compete at Exciting Battle


Table Tennis the Way You Like It
A total of 32 competitiors entered the Battle Junior Banded Event held at Battle Area Sports Centre on 25th March. THe young players competed in one of 4 banded events with the day divided into two competitions, morning and afternoon. Each band consisted of players of similar experience ensuring that all competitors had some close and exciting games. All events consiisted of group play throughout resulting in maximum experience for all the players taking part. We were delighted to welcome players from throughout the area including Hastings and Rother as well as Eastbourne. Funding towards the event was received from Table Tennis England as part of the BE-TT project. The project is aimed at bringing better experiences in the sport at a local level throughout the country through selected local clubs and other organisations. The day produced some exciting and entertaining table tennis with Band A producing some high quality performances. Table Tennis Rother Head Coach, and event Organiser, Kevin Haffende commented ‘ It was a great delight to see so many young people coming together and enjoyinf some competition , which for many was their first experience outside of their clubs or schools. I was particularly delighted to see so many younger players who have only just taken up the sport having a go in Band D. Well done to them and all the players for making this a really great day. Results: Morning Events Band A: Winner - Tom Nguyen (Bexhill Academy) Runner Up - Jacob McCarthy (Team Rother) Band B: Winner - Matthew Collick (Broad Oak) Runner Up - Ted Filby (Eastbourne) Band C: Winner - Ryan Hedges (Team Rother) Runner Up - Daniel Caroe (Eastbourne) Band D: Winner - Michal Saba (Sacred Heart) Runner Up - Frankie Lewis (Rye Primary) 3rd Place - Joshua Care (Rye Primary) and Rosie Koester (Little Common) Afternoon Events Band A: Winner - Ton Nguyen (Bexhill Academy) Runner Up - Jacob McCarthy (Team Rother) Band B: Winner - Emily Koester (Team Rother) Runner Up - Ryan McMahon (Team Rother) Band C: Winner - Daniel Caroe ( Eastbourne) Runner Up - Alex Christie ( Bexhill Academy) 3rd Place - Harrison Silver (Little Common) Band D: Winner - Harry Jarvis (Saxon Mount) Runner Up - Michal Saba (Sacred Heart) 3rd Place - Nivetha Kiladin - Lusteen and Rueben Smithson (Both Sacred Heart)